southshore-regional-school-boardThe South Shore Regional School Board and Tri-County Regional School Board govern the public education systems on the South Shore. 

Children begin school at the age of five years (or turning five by the end of December of that year) with students who are new to the area being placed in a grade that is appropriate for their age. The school year begins in September and ends late in June with breaks in December and June.

The South Shore and Tri-County Regional School Boards are responsible for all schools in the region, ranging from elementary, junior/senior high, transitional, alternative and adult high schools. There is also an all French School that provides education for students from primary to grade 12 and connects their programming with other francophone schools in the province.

nsccLunenburg County is home to the largest of 13 Nova Scotia Community College campuses in the Province. There is a YMCA center on-site replete with child care options.

Nova Scotia is known as the "Education Province" offering 11 Universities and 13 NSCC campuses – all within a 5 hour drive (most within an hour) of anywhere in the South Shore region. Living in one of our rural communities while your children study nearby saves on expensive travel for holidays and summers!